Sunday 25th July 1993

Today we never did anything.  We watched Home Alone and then the Simpsons which I don’t get.  We played Hide and Seek then had dinner then had a bath.  I had to go in last.

I love the innocence in my comments about The Simpsons, the jokes went straight over my head so I wasn’t sure if it was funny and if it wasn’t then I wasn’t sure what the point of it was.  As I got older I appreciated the wit and satire but then it kind of went off the boil and I can’t remember the last time I watched it.  I’m generally not that big on cartoons/animation – I hate South Park, Family Guy and American Dad but I did really like Futurama, it must appeal to my inner geek! 

We played Hide and Seek in the house which was quite something as we had a very small three bedroom house.  The main hiding places were behind chairs, under the kitchen table, behind the curtains, in the bath and under beds.  It was usually quite a short lived game and shows we must have been really bored.

Does anyone else remember sharing bathwater with siblings?  I’m pretty sure it wasn’t yellow by the time I got in as we were only ever in there long enough to get vaguely clean – none of us enjoyed baths as kids.  By the time I was a teenager I was spending an hour in there on a Sunday night playing the Top 40 on my radio which had to be pretty loud for me to hear it through the wall – my parents were very long suffering.  When Titanic came out I fell in love with Leonardo DiCaprio and would play the soundtrack through the wall, wallowing in the bath thinking cheery thoughts about drowning with Jack.  As I said, my parents and siblings were very long suffering!


About Leah

Organiser for the Swindon Suffragette project team along with Historian Frances Bevan (Swindon in the Past Lane blog). Partners with Swindon Heritage magazine.

One response to “Sunday 25th July 1993

  1. Pingback: Reading Digest: Disastrous Return to New York Edition « Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

